He Makes Me Lie Down

I was over at Dishpan Dribble reading Sweet Hour of Prayer, How Elusive. Ahhhhh…do you hear my sigh of relief? So often I forget that for FREEDOM Christ has set me free, and I slip back into my own flesh, my own strength, my own doings. That is so exhausting. And empty.

Just yesterday we were reading Psalm 23.

The Lord is my shepherd. I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters…He prepares a table for me…

My own life song sounds so different. It sounds more like:

I like to take care of myself. I want everything I see. I mow the pastures. I jump in raging torrents. I spend too much time toiling over a feast in my own honor.

I thank God for the perspective my children offer me. They modernized the psalm, writing their own song to the Lord. Read on:

Song of the Lord

The Lord takes care of me. I don’t want anything except for Him. He makes me lie beside Him in green pastures. He is calm.

When the devil was in my soul, I had to work and work. But when God came, He replaced my soul with good. He’s always beside me, leading me in joy, hope and love becuase I obey Him, and I’m a Christian, and I know Him.

Sometimes it feels like darkness and the devil, but I’m not scared. You are with me always, and help me not to be scared. You comfort me with your love.

You prepare gifts for me down on earth. You anoint me with Jesus’ blood when I accept You. Your cup of blood runs over Your children. God is always with me, showing me the right way–the path He has for me. And I will be happy in God’s presence forever.

2 responses to “He Makes Me Lie Down

  1. i love it

    i love you mama

    love
    brooke

  2. This is just what I needed to read today. Thank you

Leave a Reply

