That Kind of Friend

I have this wonderful friend, Suzi. She’s wonderful because she comes to visit and brings gifts (candies and hand-me-down Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle costumes) for my kids. She writes me poetry about our friendship and pops it in the mail, and blushes when I tell her I’m matting and framing it to hang in my bedroom. She starts phone conversations with, “Hello, Beautiful!” She loves her mini-doberman, whom she carries in a frontpack for hikes. She’s wonderful because she takes me to lunch for my birthday and doesn’t let me pay, even though I order the most expensive item on the menu. When I complain about the 25 pounds I need to lose, she acts like it’s only 5. She seeks the Truth and doesn’t settle for less; she doesn’t tolerate self-pity or whining.  She covers me in prayer constantly. She has been my faith when my faith ran out. She has been my silent encourager. She is a friend I never thought I’d have. She is a friend I never want to lose.

One response to “That Kind of Friend

  1. That’s so nice! I used to do little tributes to my friends; I thought that someday my children might be interested in the kind of women I socialized. This reminds me that it’s been awhile since I did that.

    Your friend sounds like a treasure, and it seems the feeling is mutual between you–and *that* is the true treasure!

Leave a Reply

