Easy as 1-2-3

This morning I was lamenting the words of yet another contractor: “Well, ma’am, installing ____ is usually quick and easy, but with the way things are here, it will be very difficult. I might not be able to install it.” I have heard that phrase a dozen times if I’ve heard it once in the past few weeks. It seems our house is not conducive to easy fixes.

It reminds me of going to the dentist. I say, “I have a very high tolerance for Novacaine.” And he (and there have been a long string of “he’s”) says, “Don’t worry, I’ll take care of you.” Then, inevitably, he digs in and OUCH! Or he says it will be a “simple” filling, and three hours later I’m nearly in tears, wondering if my sitter has gone home and left my children with the dog. It seems my mouth is not conducive to easy fixes.

But really, are these things supposed to be easy? Is electricity really easy? Is bundling it all up in a cord and running it through ceilings and into outlets really easy? Is making a hole in a tooth, making sure not to crack it, making sure not to kill it, really easy?

We’ve been duped into believing extremely complicated, highly technological procedures are easy, when, in fact, they take quite a bit of skill and education.

I’ve come to realize life is not easy. Life is not about waiting for things to calm down, or for them to get back to normal. It is about realizing that things are often hard, most times more complicated than we anticipate, and that simplicity can become an idol.

Jesus said, “In this world you’ll have tribulation, but take courage–I have overcome the world.” We can take comfort that Jesus has risen above all the frustrations that come when things aren’t easy as 1-2-3, and that He gives us peace that the world just cannot give. Peace that a contractor or dentist cannot promise; peace in the midst of what seem like earthly disasters. Peace that surpasses all earthly understanding.

I’m halting my search for the easy. I’m going to look instead for the eternal.

Leave a Reply

