Playing Dolls

As silly as it may seem, I stink at playing dolls. I just don’t know what to say. I’m an actress, you’d think I could come up with a line. I’m a writer, you’d think I could write a script. I’m a girl, you’d think I would want to make Polly talk to Sparkle Blue. But every time I try, I come up blank.

I realized, though, that Brooke isn’t going to want to play dolls for very much longer. And I don’t want to wake up regretting missing out on such a vital part of her childhood. So Friday night I started out slowly, just dressing up the dolls. Saturday I actually made them talk a little, though I felt foolish. I really, really hope she has to beg me to stop asking her to play dolls–when she’s 30! And I hope Breanna never knows a time her mommy didn’t play dolls with vim and vigor.

Leave a Reply

