Set Aright, part 2

I tell you, I didn’t know what to do with myself those two months I fasted from new commitments (see part 1). I felt like I was losing myself, piece by piece. I had placed my identity in what I could do, not who I am in the Lord. Party planner? Couldn’t find a better one around. Home school teacher? The most awesome, of course. Friend? The only one you’d ever need. Bible study leader? The most creative and insightful, not to mention hospitable. When I handed all these roles over, who was I? Who could I possibly be without them?

Soon I began to feel my mind-space free up, almost like a freezer being defrosted. Though the MOPS newsletter was only due once a month, it hours to collect the information I needed. A three hour party required six hours of planning and preparation. Nearly everything I was committed to carried a higher price than I’d ever realized. The Lord revealed to me His overhaul was going to be more than surface, more than just a clear calendar; His overhaul was going to clear my mind.

If you’re with me on this journey, ask yourself these questions:

  • What do you find yourself continually thinking about?
  • What takes up your mind space and makes you unavailable to listen, really listen, to what God is saying to you through His Word, your family, and life circumstances? 
  • Which activities take up more mind-space than you realized?
  • When you free up your calendar by cutting back on commitments, are you also freeing up mind space?

I’ll be back with more after you’ve had a little time to defrost.

One response to “Set Aright, part 2

  1. Pingback: Set Aright, part 3 « As We Walk

Leave a Reply

