Performing or Delighting?

Performing

One of the hardest things about transitioning into summer for me is avoiding guilt. We’re so busy during the school year that it’s hard for me to adjust to taking a break. The rest of life doesn’t take a break, I think. Our brains don’t take a break, I reason. So why should we take a break from schooling?

I was nursing a little guilt this morning about not being “productive,” so I recounted the things we’ve accomplished today,

  • Quiet Time with God: journalling, praying, reading the Word
  • Making great pictures with Ed Emberly’s fingerprint art book
  • Teaching Brooke three cursive letters, resulting in the word “cab”
  • Having a heart to heart with Brad about how proud I am of him
  • Helping hubby to submit his resume for a few positions
  • Reading from Mother Teresa’s No Greater Love

and felt much better. For a few minutes. A rest on the couch (with a heating pad, well-deserved) ushered the guilt right back in. Yet in that silence, as I wrestled with the desire to find my identity in my performance, the Holy Spirit reminded me of the truth I’ve learned: “It’s not about what I do, but who I am. What I do always fades–quickly. Who I am is eternal. I am beloved daughter of the King of the world, no matter if I am busy or still. I am joint heir with Jesus Christ to the riches of His glory, no matter if I am doing something impressive or resting.” 

I am comforted by God’s confirming voice in this Casting Crowns song:

“…Not because of who I am, but because of what You’ve done;

Not because of what I’ve done, but because of who You are…”

Delighting

In sharing these pictures, free from the pressure of gaining acceptance or admiration based on what I’ve accomplished, I can share my joys with you. I can see what we accomplish is a blessing from the Lord, an extra dose of Life which we can lift up to Him. I hope you are able to enjoy them and feel free from the pressure to imitate our activity. Instead, seek our Refuge and find your own peace.

4 responses to “Performing or Delighting?

  1. I know what you mean about the guilt. But hey, we all need a break sometime. May as well be summertime!

  2. May we all absorb His truth about being His *beloved* and rest in it. Track 8 on that Graham Cooke devotional/soaking CD has a portion on that, and I listened to it 1,000 times and found it fresh again and again. As always, your transparency speaks life.

  3. I know exactly what you mean–in fact that is usually the point where the Lord knocks me off my feet for a month or so. I am being VERY CAREFUL about that one. 🙂

  4. i did good dint i.
    love
    brooke

Leave a Reply

