An Open Letter to Alice Kuipers

 

Dear Ms. Kuipers,

It took me 20 minutes to read your entire first novel, Life on the Refrigerator Door, just before bed last night. It took me two hours to fall asleep–after I roused my seven year old daughter from bed to tell her how much I love her and drag her into bed to snuggle with me. It took me eight hours to shower and perform my first breast self-exam in several weeks. It took me a day to decide to have my cystic breasts checked. I hope it takes me a lifetime to forget that last note on the refrigerator.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

