Preparedness

I love Small Notebook’s post, Is Your Bag Too Prepared? Not because of all the nifty tips on how to de-clutter your handbag (which are great, by the way), but because of the title. It reminds me of Jesus’ words in Mark 13:11,

But when they arrest you and deliver you up, do not worry beforehand, or premeditate what you will speak. But whatever is given you in that hour, speak that; for it is not you who speak, but the Holy Spirit.

We are not chased and threatened with arrest in our country, in these times, but we are nonetheless wise to rely on the Holy Spirit for the words we should speak.

3 responses to “Preparedness

  1. I spent years being prepared for anything–now I just do the barre essentials.

  2. Goodness I wish my bag looked like that. I happen to be aperson that carries everything so Im prepared, makeup, diapers, pads, pills, planner, church tracts, cell phone, breath mints, gum, mirror, bandaids, toothbrush, tooth paste, pens etc. Then for years I had an emergency bag in the trunk of the car with changes ofclothing for the kids in it and with straws and forks and cups and asprin and napkins, candybars for if we get lost in the booneys (which of course one would have to go to the booneys first to get lost in them,) and anything one could think of in an emergency! My husband fainlly vetoed that bag as it got in the way when he wanted to put something in the trunk. Humph!

  3. awesome Deb! I’ve relied on that verse a few times myself.

Leave a Reply

