Sabbath Sweetness (continued)

I found a scrumptious cookie recipe on Kelli’s blog and just had to run to the store to pick up a few ingredients. Of course, it ended up being an hour trip with 8 bags of food and four wild-child shoppers just itching to touch everything on the shelves. Nonetheless, it was fun!

After a few hours of play outside and a quick leftover dinner (I try to rest from cooking on Sundays, as it’s more work for me than fun in this season of life), we got to work on making

Pumpkin Butterscotch Cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup pumpkin
1 tsp. vanilla
2 cups flour
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 tsp. cloves
1 1/2 cups butterscotch, white chocolate or chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350.F Cream the butter and sugars. Add pumpkin and vanilla. In separate bowl, stir together dry ingredients. Add to butter mixture and stir. Add butterscotch chips. Drop by teaspoons onto a greased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned around the edges. Allow to cool on sheet for several minute, then remove to cooling rack.

The kids liked them well enough. We made a double-batch together, adding butterscotch chips to one half and white chocolate chips to the other. It was a toss-up for the favorite. My whole plan was to gift them to neighbors, so we’ll have plenty to share now.

5 responses to “Sabbath Sweetness (continued)

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I linked over to you from this post
    http://floatingonwintercreek.blogspot.com/2008/10/gleaning.html

  2. I like Kelli’s blog – thanks for that link – I’ll start watching her page now, too. Pretty soon I won’t have anytime left for housework – yayyy!!!!

  3. These look yummy….I saw another pumpkin cookie recipe somewhere the other day that used chocolate chips….It was an unexpected combination to me, but sounded so good that I added the ingredients to my shopping list. I can imagine that the butterscotch chips are really good with the pumpkin. Can’t wait to try them 🙂

  4. twilightspath

    YUM! I am so hungry for pumpkin cookies now!

  5. Now I’m completely undone, having seen them! Children are *begging* for homemade cookies this afternoon, but we have no pumpkin and no butterscotch chips…sugar cookies, it will be!

Leave a Reply

