Fitness Friday: The Shopping Edition

You wonder why I subject myself to intense scrutiny when I’m obviously not on board with Fitness Friday? I really am on-board. I might be gaining weight and choosing unwisely (is that a word?), but I’m aware. I won’t say I’m going about getting fit the right way–yet. But I’m thinking about it much more than I ever have. In fact, Tuesday I joined the gym!

I plan to begin going next week, and have already bribed my kids with some free-play basketball if they go quietly into the room for children. They hate the room already, but I think the free-play just might work. I even made an appointment for an orientation with a trainer. Wahoo!

Now I just have to dig out some clothes that will work. Do I even own a pair of tennis shoes? Oh, yes, from 1990. (You think I’m kidding? I bought them right after I graduated from high school. They’re back in style now. Can tennis shoes go “bad,” like produce?)

You laugh–but one day I’m going to have my wedding dress cleaned and renew my vows in it. Because I will eat healthy and stay active. And I will be exactly the size God made me to be.

Oops! I almost forgot to comment on the whole shopping thing. Well, maybe first in order should be some new tenners and work-out clothes. Lol.

As for what I’d like to fit in–I’d like to get back to wearing my long, flowing linen shirts and pants without feeling like a giant marshmallow. And I’d like to not look six months pregnant (you think I’m kidding?!) in my swimsuit. I’d like to fit in a new beautiful tankini. There you go. (Of course my alter-ego is saying, “You were a perfect size 8 when you got married–shouldn’t you want that?! But no, alter-ego, I’ve birthed four healthy chilluns’ and I’m not going to torture myself. Shush your mouth!)

9 responses to “Fitness Friday: The Shopping Edition

  1. That first paragraph made me giggle. You are so awesome. 🙂

  2. I never can find your comment part on your posts–that’s why I didn’t leave one last week…sorry!!! SCROLL DOWN BRENDA!

    Anyway, good for you on joining the gym! That’s hilarious about the tennis shoes. I heard someone talking about all the shoes they owned once and they listed running shoes. I said I didn’t have any running shoes b/c my running shoes are whatever pair I happened to be wearing when someone started CHASING ME. Cause that’s the only reason I could think of to run.

    Academy has some cute athletic capri pants too for your workout wardrobe! Wish I could go work out with you!

  3. How exciting about your gym membership – and even better that you have an appointment!!

  4. That’s the first step, being aware! Anytime I get to the bottom of myself, that nagging feeling is there until I start moving my rear!

    Good for you to join the gym! Can’t wait to hear how it goes next week…. with your tennis shoes! 😉

  5. Yeah, we can visit the gym for the first time together!

    I have running shoes, its the shoes that I run around in! You are doing awesome!

  6. Glad you joined a gym. I used to go to one and that is when I was at my best. Keep up the good work.

  7. i appreciate your outlook on how women should look… that healthy does not have to be a size super skinny….we have had children, aged, and that makes things harder….i am going to try telling myself that i dont have to be the size i was when i got married and that it is ok

  8. Good for you for not only joining the gym but for kmaking an appointment ot get oriented!! That is awesome. I would say that your thinking is now being ut into action. That is the first step!! Good luck with the gym next week . I can;t wait to hear how you liked it!

  9. This path starts with awareness (check!) then leads to action (appointment at gym–check!) I did not wake up one morning and flip the switch from “I’m fat & I don’t care” to “I want to get fit!” There was a lot of building awareness, gaining knowledge, a few practice runs, and then I started FOR REAL. Clearly, I’m not the only one! You are well on your way, and I look forward to hearing how things progress for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

