This and That: From the Heart

leaves

I’ve barely had a few minutes to sit down to write from my heart. I’m going to try to squeeze in a few now.

My house smells like a combination of Chinese potstickers and pine. Reminds me of my New York memories–which makes me even more excited for our upcoming trip to NYC with friends.

My boys are playing Freedom Land, a camouflage sleeping bag draped over a laundry basket. It’s where nobody can tell them what to do. I think it’s an extension of our study of the Separatists who came over on the Mayflower. I love when learning drips deep down inside.

Brooke just presented me with a cute drawing of Mama Elf and Brooke Elf climbing ladders up to a humongo Christmas tree.

I found some really cute Christmas gift ideas for the kids (okay, shoot me, I’m talking about Christmas after yelling at everyone for doing it) on the Keepers of the Faith and Love to Learn web sites.

I’m watching a Veteran’s Day special on television, thanking God for my retired Army officer husband who loved serving his country.

Yesterday we spent a wonderful afternoon with friends we hadn’t seen in some time. They are relaxed schoolers, too, so no one was rushing off to a workbook. And the kids had so much fun building train tracks all over the living room.

Tomorrow is my orientation at the gym, and I’m nervous. I don’t even know if I have anything to wear! I guess I should have thought of that earlier. I can always stop by Target tomorrow morning.

I am loving the settling in of crisp fall, when you settle into the couch with some good books, a few kids, and a warm cup of tea. Today we bought Celestial Seasoning’s Nutcracker Sweet. Yummy.

I hope you all are well, snug and warm and cozy on your own couches with your own children, sipping your own favorite tea. I’m going to enjoy some cinnamon-sugar toast and cold milk, forget the dishes and laundry, and settle onto the couch to rest my body and mind.

G’night.

branches

3 responses to “This and That: From the Heart

  1. I love the peek into your thoughts and your day. Nutcracker Sweet tea is one of our favorites this time of year.

  2. I love this post! So cozy! I am having a cozy day at home and loving it… at least for now. We’ll see how I feel come this evening! 🙂

  3. What a delightful post…so cozy and comforting.

Leave a Reply

