Cranberry Thanksgiving

cranberythkvgWe read Cranberry Thanksgiving for the first time this year, on the recommendation of Amanda Bennet via her Thanksgiving unit study. Where has this book been all my life? It was hilarious, and delightfully predictable to me, and a total surprise to my children.

As the authors anticipated, we were inspired to make our own batch of Grandmother’s Famous Cranberry Bread. And I can’t believe I, the photo queen, forgot to snap some shots. I really, really can’t believe it. Neither can my kids, who tease me about taking pictures of mundane things nobody would want to actually look at!

 My kids loved this so much that we ate it for dinner! My kids don’t like ANYTHING like this! Someone said kids are more likely to eat what they cook–I see the truth in that!

 

Grandmother’s Famous Cranberry Bread

  • 2 c. sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1.5 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 t. grated orange peel
  • 3/4 c. orange juice
  • 1.5 c. light raisins
  • 1.5 c. fresh or frozen cranberries, chopped

Sift flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda into a large bowl. Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. Add egg, orange peel, and orange juice all at once; stir just until mixture is evenly moist. Fold in raisins and cranberries.

Spoon into a greased 9×5.3-inch loaf pan. Bake at 350 for 1 hour 10 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove from pan; cool on a wire rack.

If you choose, you may substitute cranberries to have an all cranberry bread.

Note: I made two batches and only grated the orange peel into one, without significant difference. I left out the raisins but did not add more cranberries, and there are plenty of cranberries. I baked the batches in mini-loaf pans, 5 per batch, for 40 minutes. Just after I pulled them out, I sprinkled crystals of “Sugar in the Raw” on top. Very yummy!

3 responses to “Cranberry Thanksgiving

  1. Oh now I have to read this. How cool!

  2. hi deb,
    just wanted to say thanks for all your posts. it is so wonderful to know a blog like yours. it is one i can look forward to reading, knowing that usually there will be some new tidbit of something interesting. it is one that i don’t hesitate to click on, because i know it won’t make my over-analytical self spiral into an “am i a good enough mom?” cycle. it is honest here. and encouraging. and i am so happy to have your photos to look at and your thoughts to read. thanks,
    becky

  3. Love this book…our copy is well worn. We’ve used and adapted the same recipe over the years. How well I can remember Maggie, at age 4, insisting upon chopping up the cranberries *by herself* with a sharp knife. Such good memories, the stuff life is made of.

Leave a Reply

