A Pictoral Chronology of Christmas: Christmas Eve at Aunt Carol’s

Since I was a young teenager, we’ve spent every Christmas Eve evening with my Aunt Carol at her house.

aunt-carol-2

Each year she makes a huge spread, always including this rye bread bowl.

dipping-bread

This year she must have spiked it with ginseng, because this his how Brea looked after dipping in.

brea-jumping-jacks

So  many candid shots…can you see how hard Brad’s trying not to spin around in that chair? He’s so self-disciplined!

brad-on-chair

Brian had a blast putting the camera on night shot and shaking it after clicking the shot.

christmas-tree-wacky

He was so cute he managed to persuade his aunty to give him a back scratch.

brian-back-scratch

The girls formed a pile up on their aunts.

girls-pile-up

I didn’t think it would help to jump on top, being how I’ve gained a gazillion pounds this holiday season.

me-and-my-sisters

This is one of my favorite-ever shots of my boys, all three of them.

chuck-and-boys

Of course, gift time did roll around. Secretly I’d been coveting this little number under the tree. I was sure it was for my gardening aunt. But, turns out, it was for me!

deb-gift

Breanna loved this particular gift most of all, I think. What do you think?

brea-purple-ball

The other three loved this game, a replacement of one they lost in last year’s flood.

twister

Finally, the traditional Grandmother Picture came–just when my cousin was calling to wish his mother a Merry Christmas from overseas. We missed you, C!

grandmother-picture

Breanna called an end to the night’s festivities when she fell asleep on her aunt’s lap.

brea-sleeping-on-renee

Good night, Sweetheart. Get plenty of rest because tomorrow is Jesus’ birthday!

Leave a Reply

