From the Bookshelf: Part 3

Can you believe all of these are floating around my house? And I’m reading through 3/4 of them! I’m an avid reader, and it takes a lot to capture and keep my attention.

Here is my final personal stash. (I haven’t even shown you my bookshelves chock-full of great titles.)

THE NIGHTSTAND BASKET

nightstand

 

mission-of-motherhoodMission of Motherhood, by Sally Clarkson

I love how this book brings me back to the real purpose of motherhood. I get so tangled up in the shoulds and oughts that I lose sight of the goal, gently guiding my children into relationship with Jesus Christ. 

 

powerPower of a Praying Parent, By Stormie O’Martian

Written with one prayer per day, we make sure we don’t neglect this important responsibility and great privelege of praying for our children by reading it nightly.

 

love-notesLove Notes on His Pillow, by Linda Gilden

This is one of those books I need to read. And I leave it in my basket because I could sure stand to improve in romance.

 

 

rootsRoots, Shoots, Buckets and Boots, by Sharon Lovejoy

Another one I have because I  need to get reading. We’re going to start some sort of garden this summer, because it’s just time. I’ve put it off too long and deprived my children of the joy (so I’ve heard) of growing and harvesting.

bend-the-rulesBend the Rules Sewing, by Amy Karol

Still in the basket because I can pop it open to a project and complete it right away with what I have on hand. I don’t read through it, but use it as a manual. Great for beginners or those of us who hate following the rules in crafting.

day-of-delightA Day of Delight, from Doorposts

This is a reminder of ways I can make our Sabbath all the richer. I keep it out so it’s fresh in my mind.

 

 

murray-readerAndrew Murray Daily Reader

I’m seeing a pattern–I keep lots of books handy because I think I should, or because I just can’t bear to send them downstairs to the bookshelves. It served me well for a long season. I’m sure I’ll bring it out again in a new season.

rottmanWriters in the Spirit, by Carol Rottman

For some time I used this to jump-start my writing. Now, I find blogging takes its place.

 

 

creative-familyThe Creative Family, by Amanda Blake Soule

Oh, another good friend to send to the shelves…for another season. But a good, good read.

 

 

hallmarkHallmark Magazine

A new treat for myself. Just got my first copy today in the mail, and I can’t wait to sit down with a cup of hot cocoa and rifle through it.

 

reflexologyReflexology, by Rosalind Oxenford

I asked for reflexology sessions for Christmas because I love (more than almost anything in the world) to have my feet rubbed–and my husband hates (almost more than anything in the world) to rub them. My mom bought me this book, which would be even better if hubby would use it!

writermamacoverWriter Mama, by Christina Katz

The subtitle is “How to Raise Your Writing Career Alongside Your Kids.” She breaks everything down into easily achievable objectives, but I’m still not finding (making,  maybe) time for it. I think I’m a little burned out in pursuing this writing career.

road1Road to Reality, by K. P. Yohannan

If you haven’t read K.P. Yohannan, you have to! Road to Reality is a great place to start. In it, he discusses the excesses of our culture and their tendency to lead us far, far from what God considers reality. Excellent read!

And I’m eagerly awaiting the arrival of

touching-godlinessTouching Godliness Through Submission, by K.P. Yohannan

Over and again, the Lord says you show you love Him if you obey Him. Obedience is submitting yourself to His will. I can’t wait to read what God has said through K.P. Yohannan yet again. His words will endure and reach many hearts for the Lord.

 

Well, that ends my book sharing. I see the need to clean out my book baskets and fill back up my shelves. Good thing I purged a few months back. If you’re local and you see a title you’d like to borrow, just send me a  note.

4 responses to “From the Bookshelf: Part 3

  1. your house looks like my house….a special stash for every area! It’s great when there is always the perfect book within reach 🙂

  2. I’ve read Writer Mama, The Creative Family, and I have Roots, Shoots, Bucket & Boots on my dining table where I was reading it (again!) this morning!

  3. wow…i can not imagine trying to get through so many books at once

  4. I LOVE all your sharing! I am always looking for some more good titles! 🙂 I am curious how you Pegan Christianity reading is going? And I too am learning reflexology! My husband has a hernia and everyone who wanted to avoid surgery and did reflexology was able to heal their own hernia! (Although I am sure you and I both know Who healed it.) 🙂 I never thought about trying to find classes (maybe because I fear the New Age twist that can be put on it). I have been learning from reading books (I REALLY like the Reflexology Atlas – it got 5 stars on Amazon). It seems to be helping him a lot. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your book lists with us!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

