If the love of money is the root of all evil…

…then my fascination with FaceBook is the root of all discontent.

I’ve finally joined in on the social networking phenomenon that is FaceBook. I’ve learned a few things:

While Friends have been spending Friday nights dressed up and on the town, I thought I was the lucky dog getting to spend mine Costco–alone. (Think I should have the hair-netted food lady snap a shot of me for my profile?)

While a Friend writes she’s about to flit off to Peru for a few months, and says, “We’ll see where I land after that,” I realize the only unplanned landings in my life involve vomit.

While Friends write of watching sunsets and rainbows over tropical waterfalls, I plug my ears in the carwash while my kids scream during the rainbow wax.

While Friends from twenty years ago are still thin, I’m seriously wondering if they have a voodoo doll of me upon which they heap all their extra calories.

I jest. But I can tell you that before I hit FaceBook, I must remind myself of the many blessings with which God has lavished me: 

  • A body that sags three inches all over from carrying and nursing four miracles.
  • Cracked tea cups nicknamed “Chip” to hold steaming cocoa on the afternoon of the first yearly snow.
  • A man who loves me even when my eyebrows and moustache have grown out so much I look like an undercover CIA agent.
  • Windows covered with little fingerprints to remind me the view is much better inside.
  • Readers who laugh, cry and share their unmentionables with me.

Look out FaceBook, there’s a content woman on the way.

9 responses to “If the love of money is the root of all evil…

  1. oh, deb…i hear ya! fb has caused some major moments of drama in my mind lately! it IS so important to focus on the positives in your life. we all choose our paths in life for one reason or another, and although our paths are not the same, they are special and precious to us, and that’s what matters.

  2. Funny–I keep looking at these people I once new who are horribly selfish and think about themselves all the time and wonder what I am doing there.

  3. While I hear your sturggles in that-it was FUNNY!! I so appreciate your take on the whole fb scene. I know I have to have more peace and enjoyment than my still-partying classmates. It only makes me look forward to the next reunion so they will ask what’s different in me. Only then will my experiences and past bring glory!!

  4. This was very funny! Thanks for the smiles.

  5. Funny! Love this post 😉

    I haven’t joined in on FB yet….

    I ran into a friend at the store a few days ago and she was urging me to try it out. I haven’t clicked over yet….I hear lots of likes and dislikes from both sides, so I’m still a little undecided. I just hope it’s nothing like myspace….that was definitely not for me 🙂

  6. This post had me rolling! How true how true! I love facebook because there IS no drama for me there. Myspace, on the other hand, lent itself to some major moments of insecurity and craziness… which is why I’ve basically all but abandoned my account. I’m sure eventually I’ll be sick of FB too when the next thing comes along!

  7. ooh! send me a friend request. alice hendon

  8. This post had me nodding in agreement. I don’t think I’m missing out on a single thing — but I’d love a clean house once in a blue moon (what is a blue moon anyway?), and a chance to shop for groceries alone, without being in a rush, would be bliss. As for my size, well, the kids don’t have to fight for their own space to hug… they each have their own area code 😉

    It’s all about perspective…

  9. I love this Posting. It really touched some personal feelings that I have been having about my own life. I love your blog I’ve had a hard time juggling being a mom and being myself outside of being a mom. I love the way you take motherhood as a part of your identity

Leave a Reply

