What I’m Reading

kingsolverAnimal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

This beautifully written, honest journal of Kingsolver’s family’s one year journey to food purity is inspiring…and frightening. I am no longer ignorant, and knowledge requires action. 

 

 

yohannan1Touching Godliness Through Submission by K.P. Yohannan

When Mr. Yohannan speaks of submitting to an authority that squelched his plans to travel the world to minister, I squirmed. He really, really believes Scripture, including the  notion that there is no leader in your life whom God has not appointed.

  

barton1Strengthening the Soul of Your Leadership by Ruth Haley Barton

This likening modern day ministry to Moses’ life is like no other of its type. God has used this book to guide me through the desert He has called me to in this season in life. I could not be more grateful for this guide.

  

prentiss1Stepping Heavenward by Mrs. E. Prentiss

This fictional journal of a woman from her teen years to her wise years is absolutely eye-opening. She admits the very things our hearts would never divulge, and may not even know…yet.

One response to “What I’m Reading

  1. Looks like some great books! I’ve only read the first, and it was definitely inspiring — plenty to chew on. 😉 We’ve attempted to go local in many ways, though we’re not all the way, and I’m not sure we’ll ever be completely.

    One issue I’ve had is with conflicting values and priorities with friends who don’t eat animal products. We don’t have maple trees or sugar cane around here, so I’d be willing to give up maple and sugar for honey, which I buy locally. But that would mean no more making vegan cookies for our friends. For them, there’s no compromising on that issue. They’re pretty militant. So it’s up to me to bend. We’re back to that grace vs. holiness issue. Grace covers all, but we still want to live responsibly with what we know, right?

Leave a Reply

