Mommy Was Wrong. Dead Wrong.

fishie

Poor little Junior Sparks had been struggling to breathe all day. I assured them it would be just fine to put him right into fresh new tap water. I’d done it my whole life. He’d be just fine and he’d be able to breathe.

The next morning, Brooke told me Junior Sparks was sleeping. Oh no. To tell the truth or a story that would buy me time to get a replacement? It didn’t matter what I said–the look on my face was honest. No poker face here.

An apology and acknowledgement that yes, there just might be a pink fish out there somewhere, was enough to quell the tears. Now I know.  No fresh tap water for Junior Sparks Junior.

Leave a Reply

