Book Review: Thirsty by Amy Nappa

I wondered what I’d gotten myself into, committing to Navpress to read and review Thirsty: Meeting Jesus at Your Deepest Need by Amy Nappa. When the book came, it didn’t seem right for my season in life. I wasn’t thirsty; I wasn’t needy. I hesitantly opened the book during a morning quiet time before starting home school. When the children came to the table, I gave them an extra hour of morning play–I couldn’t put the book down!

Reading this book was like waking up from a dream where I can’t find water and realizing I’m parched. It was like running down my hall in the middle of the night and meeting the kitchen faucet with my open lips.

For the first time I saw myself as that woman at the well. The one who thirsted for real life, free life, eternally good life. I saw the Jesus who met her there with kind eyes and questions to stir her heart and soul. The Jesus who was willing to wait for the woman who didn’t even know she needed him–didn’t even know she was thirsty.

A woman with a checkered past and piles of emotional scars left over from it–scars that left her spiritually handicapped and helpless. Sin had injured her spirit like war tears apart the body…And yet, I am here to tell you that God still cherished this broken, thirsty woman. (p.32)

Nappa drops us into the scene we think we know so well and challenges our every assumption about it. And about God. She tells stories from her own life that leave us wondering, “Who is this Jesus?” He is not the benign, predictable, manipulatable friendly guy we like to look to for brotherly advice.

I think the Woman at the Well learned–and I am just beginning to discover–that God is not safe. Christ is not tame…The One who imposed the laws of nature and the normal way of life is also a master of surprise. (p. 44)

She shows us how this unpredictable, surprising Jesus is willing to meet us at our point of need, our thirsty place. I might have been worried this book wasn’t for this season in my life when I started it. But I didn’t realize how much of my life is dry season.

I certainly didn’t realize Jesus was waiting for me at this well, before I even knew I was thirsty…

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 responses to “Book Review: Thirsty by Amy Nappa

  1. Deb-
    I want to thank you for sharing this book on your blog. After reading your review, I purchased “Thirsty” for myself. I have thoroughly enjoyed this book. Thirsty…an adequate name for life. No matter what your season in this life, I think we are all “Thirsty” like the Woman at the Well. I encourage everyone to read this book, but be aware that when you finish, you WILL discover you were more thirsty than you first realized.

  2. Stephanie, I am so glad you enjoyed this book. Thank you for letting us know.

Leave a Reply

