Big Changes Coming Up for Us

I’ve been busy preparing for a new member of our family to arrive. No, I’m not pregnant. Or adopting. My husband’s aunt, who has been a third parent his entire life, is moving in with us.

We’ve been clearing out the “school room” (where we store our supplies, not where we actually school) and working our learning materials into the “play room” (where we store our toys, not where we actually play). Who knew we had so much room in our house? It’s felt good, albeit emotional taxing, to purge and giveaway. But getting rid of stuff in order to welcome people is a wonderful feeling.

I’m so excited to create a space for her in our home and in our lives. The children made lists of what they’re looking forward to–and they were so dear. One said, “New holidays.” One said, “Getting to watch Sponge Bob.” (Aunt Dot has let them watch it with her when she’s babysitting.) My favorite was, “Sharing Jesus by serving her.” What a blessing and privelege.

I have to admit there are certain things this is forcing me to do–such as clean more and think more about putting a regular routine into effect. But they’re good things. Things I have been wanting to do for some time. God always uses stretching times to refine us and form us into His image.

So, if you’ll pardon me, I’m going to finish sweeping and mopping “Aunt Dot’s room.” That has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it?

2 responses to “Big Changes Coming Up for Us

  1. How fun! Hope you have a good time together!

  2. Mom-
    I love you so much!!!!!
    You are the best ever!!!!!
    Love,
    Brookie

Leave a Reply

