Traditional Meal, Traditional Post

As cliche as it is to post my Thanksgiving Day menu and top ten things I’m grateful for, I’m going to do it. There’s a reason things become commonplace–sometimes it’s because they’re simply universally warm and fuzzy.

Our Menu:

  • Turkey (my mama’s picking up our freshly killed Tom tomorrow)
  • Gravy
  • Stuffing (recipe also posted earlier)
  • Sweet Potato Casserole (my grandmother’s recipe)
  • Succotash (that’s lima beans and corn mixed together)
  • Green Bean Casserole (my sis loves this!)
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Cranberry Sauce (the canned jelly stuff and a crockpot recipe for fresh)
  • Sauerkraut and sausage (the only time of the year I get it)
  • Salad (my mama loves a good salad)
  • Rolls (maybe I’ll make some honey butter for them)
  • Pumpkin pie (mmm…mmm…mmm)

It’s been a pretty hard year emotionally, and I’ve done quite a bit of whining, grumbling, moaning, and complaining. But I’m seriously thankful for so much. Here are the top ten, not listed in any particular order.

  1. My beautiful family who thank me every single night for dinner.
  2. My just-the-right-size home filled with love and laughter.
  3. My husband’s new job, which has great medical and dental benefits.
  4. My friends who love me despite the aforementioned bad attitude.
  5. My extended family who have always been and always will be, through the many seasons of life.
  6. My home school network, which provides encouragement and exhortation day in and day out.
  7. My old friends I found on facebook who have become new friends again.
  8. My prayer partner, who makes me bust a gut every Monday morning.
  9. My (pretty) sound mind and healthy body.
  10. My God, who sustains me every moment.

I pray you all find His presence in your day of gratitude, however He makes Himself known to you. I pray your spiritual eyes are opened and you allow yourself to be enfolded in His arms. He loves you more than you can ever k now.

4 responses to “Traditional Meal, Traditional Post

  1. is the bird coming from Richardsons by chance thats where we get ours so good nothing beats a fresh one.

  2. It is, Toni! My mom picked it up today. I can’t wait to taste it.

  3. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving Deb, full of traditional blessings!! 🙂

  4. You, too, Amanda 🙂

Leave a Reply

