Rethinking Christmas: Accepting Gifts

My husband gave me a priceless gift. He gave me something I cannot pay back. Something he had to sacrifice for. He gave me what he knew would refresh me and fill my soul with joy.

He gave me the dinner and concert I cancelled.

alathea

alathea-pic

How could I accept this gift, when I had nothing that came close in value to give him? When I knew I did not deserve this? How could I accept what I could never hope to pay back?

Would I react with guilt? Deny the gift based on my feelings of inadequacy? Try to come up with something to bless him as much?

Or would I just accept the gift and his love poured through it?

Or would I just accept the gift and his love poured through it?

Or would I just accept the gift and his love poured through it?

There is another gift I am unworthy to receive. Weightier than any other I have been offered. Eternal in its impact. Something even my very life could never satisfy in return.

His name is Jesus.

4 responses to “Rethinking Christmas: Accepting Gifts

  1. God is GOOD! Isn’t it wonderful how He loves to give good gifts through others even though we know we don’t deserve them? God just provided a portable dvd player for Rachel through Freecycle–which we knew we could not afford and which she really, really wanted. Such a blessing and what I can I do to say thank you, really?

  2. Your dh is priceless! It must have given him great joy to bless you with that outing.

  3. Oh, that is wonderful! What a blessing!
    Melissa

  4. Oh, how very wonderful and thoughtful of him! This post is a beautiful reminder of so many things to me. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a comment