The Archimedes Principle

I finally figured out how boats float! I absolutely love home schooling because we literally live, eat and breathe whatever we’re studying.

Just check out my bathtub, the center of all things sinking and floating:

all-things-floating

Brooke wasn’t too fond of cleaning up the soggy shredded wheat, but she and the others were tickled at being able to stick whatever they wanted to test into a tub full of water.

sketching

We all worked on sketches of boats. Even me.

sketches

The children set to work building their own boats to float on the river out back.

building-a-boat1

I love that Brooke took these photos herself, anticipating this very blog post.

floating-a-boat

Despite my doubts, her maiden voyage was a success.

I’ll show more photos when we make it out to the river. This is our final week studying Ships and Floating.

2 responses to “The Archimedes Principle

  1. That’s IT. I want to go back to being a kid again!!

    Your kids are some of the most blessed kids I know. You’re an awesome mom and teacher… I have a lot of respect for you.

    Great drawings, btw!

  2. What great fun!! Immersion is marvelous!

Leave a comment